Managing the roles of LDAP users

Synchronizing BLAZE with an LDAP server maps user group information registered on the LDAP server to roles in BLAZE. User groups registered as Administrator on the LDAP server are mapped to Administrator permissions in BLAZE, with user information included in the group being added. User group information retrieved from the LDAP server can be viewed and modified in Roles in the left sidebar. If the group on the LDAP server doesn't exist in the BLAZE role, create a new role with the same name as the group on the LDAP server.

To check the role of the LDAP server

  1. Click Settings > Roles.
  2. Check the desired role from the list.

Modifying the role of the LDAP server

Modify the roles retrieved from the LDAP server.
  • The Permissions, Devices, and Layouts items managed on the Roles page are editable. For a detailed description of role settings, see Configuring role settings.

Deleting the role of the LDAP server

Roles retrieved from the LDAP server are deleted in the following cases:
  • Turn off the synchronization setting in LDAP server settings and deleting the LDAP server role
  • Deleting the role from the LDAP server while the LDAP server is synchronized
  • Deleting the LDAP server from the BLAZE server
Note:
  • You cannot delete a role imported from an LDAP server when synchronization with the LDAP server is enabled.
  • If an LDAP role contains BLAZE users that were not imported from the LDAP server, even if you delete the LDAP server, the LDAP role cannot be deleted.