Configuring storage settings

In the Storage tab, you can view the list of HDD devices installed on the server, their storage locations, capacity, and status.
Note:
  • If no storage drive is connected or enabled, video will not be recorded. Be sure to enable at least one storage drive.
  • On Linux servers, disks with a total capacity of 100 GB or less cannot be used for recording and do not appear in the storage list in Server settings.
  • On Windows and Linux servers, physical or logical disks with less than 100 GB of free space are displayed as Low capacity and are disabled by default. These disks cannot be enabled as BLAZE storage.
  • Storage space currently used by BLAZE is excluded when calculating free space.
  • If disk information (location, capacity, and so on) cannot be retrieved because of a network or hardware error, the message "Cannot load disk information" is displayed.
  • Only users with the Administrator role can check and manage disk activation status.

To configure the server's storage

  1. Click Settings > Servers.
  2. In the Server settings page, select the desired server from the server list.
  3. Click the Storage tab.
  4. Configure the server's storage drives.
  5. When finished, click Apply.

Viewing server storage information

In the Storage tab, activate the desired storage or refresh storage information.
  • Activate storage: Turn on the toggle for a storage drive to save recorded video to that drive. Turn off the toggle to prevent recorded video from being saved to that drive.
    Note: On BLAZE Appliance, this feature is always enabled and cannot be changed.
  • Refresh: Click Refresh at the bottom to update the storage entries.
In the Storage tab, view the following items:
  • Location: Displays the location of the server's storage drive. If the PC has multiple drives, the system drive (C:\) where the OS is installed cannot be used to store footage and will be shown as disabled.
    • If the PC where the server is installed has only the system drive, footage can be saved to C:\.
    • It is recommended to set the BLAZE storage drive as a separate drive from the system drive.
      Note: On BLAZE Appliance, an index number for the storage location is shown instead of the drive name. Check this number on the storage map image.
  • Capacity: Displays the available and used storage space of the drive. The orange portion of the status bar indicates used storage space, and the gray portion indicates available storage space.
  • Status: Displays the current status of the storage drive. Status information is updated via periodic S.M.A.R.T. checks.
    • OK: The disk is healthy and usable for recording.
    • Disabled: The disk is disabled and cannot be used for recording.
    • SMART error: A problem has been detected on the disk, but the disk can still be used. Hover over the status to view detailed information.
      • Bad sectors have occurred but are below the threshold (36).
      • An error was detected in a non-critical S.M.A.R.T. attribute.
      • The NVMe controller has reported warnings such as temperature rise.
      • The disk temperature exceeds 60℃.
      • Pending or uncorrectable sectors were detected (Linux).
    • Failed: The disk has encountered a critical error and cannot be used for recording.
      • The number of bad sectors exceeds 36.
      • There is at least one pending sector (Windows).
      • There is at least one uncorrectable sector (Windows).
    Note:
    • In SMART error status, recording continues, but a system event notifies the user that disk inspection is required.
    • In Failed status, recording stops to protect data, and a system event notifies the user that recording is no longer possible.

Formatting appliance storage

Format HDDs installed in the appliance individually or multiple drives at once.

To format storage

  1. In the Server settings panel, click the Storage tab.
  2. Click Format.
  3. In the Format storage window, select the checkboxes for the disks to format, then click Next.
  4. Reconfirm the disks to format and click Format.
Note:
  • The storage format function is supported only on BLAZE Appliance.
  • Executing a format will temporarily pause all recording operations.
  • You cannot navigate to other menus while formatting is in progress.
  • After formatting, a portion of the disk space may still appear as used. This is because the file system reserves approximately 5% of the space for stable OS operation.

Checking appliance status

Click Storage map to open a new window that visually displays the HDD layout of the appliance. HDDs are identified by numbers and their physical locations can be confirmed via the storage map.
Note: The storage map function is supported only on BLAZE Appliance.

Appliance RAID

RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) is a technology that combines multiple hard disks into a single logical unit to improve data protection and reliability. You can configure the appliance's disks as RAID to ensure data redundancy and protect against drive failures. BLAZE Appliances support RAID 1, 5, and 6.

Create RAID

  1. In the server settings panel, click the Storage tab.
  2. Click Create RAID.
  3. In the Create RAID window, select the desired RAID level and click Next.
  4. Available volume configurations are automatically displayed. When you select a volume configuration, the volume is automatically configured based on the physical slot positions. (Users cannot arbitrarily select disks.) Click Next.
  5. Review the configuration details, and then click Create RAID.
    Note: Disks are formatted when creating RAID. All existing data will be deleted.
  6. The formatting and RAID creation progress is displayed. When the process is complete, you can verify whether it succeeded or failed.

Information about created volumes (location, capacity, status, member disks, etc.) can be viewed.

Note: Even if a factory reset is performed from the client's menu, the configured RAID array settings are not reset. If a hardware initialization button is used to perform a hardware reset, the RAID settings will be reset.
Note:
  • If disks of different sizes are used together, the RAID array is configured based on the smallest disk capacity.
  • If disks of different models are mixed, performance may be limited.
  • Only one RAID level can be operated at a time, but recording can be performed using both RAID storage and normal HDD mode simultaneously.

Delete RAID

You can delete a configured RAID volume and revert it to individual disks.

  • Volumes can be deleted per volume, and when deleted the disks belonging to that volume are formatted.
  • When all volumes are deleted, the system reverts to normal HDD mode and recording becomes available.
  • Deleting some volumes still allows recording on the remaining volumes, and the disks that made up the deleted volume are formatted so that they can also record in normal HDD mode.

Format RAID

Clicking the Format button, as with a normal HDD, displays the full list of volumes. You can select and format individual volumes. Formatting a volume deletes all data in the selected volume. However, the existing RAID level and volume configuration are retained after formatting.

Monitoring RAID status

Monitor the status of RAID volumes and individual disks to prevent data loss and respond promptly to failures.

Status Description
OK All disks are functioning normally.
Degraded One or more disks have failed, putting the array at risk of data loss (RAID 1/5: 1 disk failed, RAID 6: 1–2 disks failed). You can identify problematic disks via Health Alert notifications.
Failed The RAID volume is lost because of multiple disk failures (RAID 1/5: 2 disks failed, RAID 6: 3 or more disks failed). If a RAID failure occurs during operation, the system automatically reboots. After booting is complete, a health status alert is generated.
Rebuilding Data recovery is in progress after replacing a failed disk. Progress (%) and remaining time are displayed.

Replacing failed disks and automatic recovery

  1. Physically remove the failed disk and replace it with a healthy disk whose capacity is at least as large as the original disk.
  2. When the new disk is installed, the system automatically detects it and begins rebuilding (data synchronization).
    Note: Any existing data on the new disk will be erased.
  3. When recovery is complete, the RAID status changes to OK.

Health monitoring

On the Health monitoring tab, you can view the following information.

  • Total usage and read/write performance of RAID storage
  • Temperature and Power-On Hours information for the individual disks in the RAID array